Gold Is Money -- Gold is Money -  The Premier Gold and Silver Forum -- Goldismoney Gold Is Money -- Gold is Money -  The Premier Gold and Silver Forum -- Goldismoney
Welcome Guest, is this your first visit?
Register today to gain access to all of our features which include creating topics, replying back to posts, private messaging and much more!

What are you waiting for?
Already Joined?
Sign into your account now

Thread: How long can you store ammo?

1. Post #1

Thanks
    Thanked 3,466 Times in 1,610 Posts

Default How long can you store ammo?

I'm a newbie when it comes to guns so I have a question for those of you who know your stuff when it comes to guns and ammo.

On page 12 of the Beretta Nano user manual, I read the following:

WARNING: Carefully inspect each cartridge before it is loaded in the magazine. Be certain the cartridge cases are not split or deformed, and that the cartridges do not possess any other dents or defects. This warning even applies to factory ammunition.

Do not fire old ammunition. Primers, powder, cartridge cases, and bullets can deteriorate with time and cause damage to the firearm, or injury to the shooter or others.

source:
    http://www.berettausa.com/file.aspx?DocumentId=78

My question is regarding the "do not fire old ammunition" statement. I thought ammunition didn't go bad and you could stock up on it so you'd have ammo when the next "dry spell" in ammo comes along.

I bought a case of ammo to keep and now I'm wondering about that. What constitutes "age" in the life of a bullet? I mean, what is "old" ammo? How old is old?

Is that line in the user manual valid or is this just an example of the lawyers at Beretta covering their bases? I'm hoping it's just a line the lawyers made them put in there.
    "I am convinced that there are more threats to American liberty within the 10 mile radius of my office on Capitol Hill than there are on the rest of the globe." -- Ron Paul, Texas Straight Talk - February 16, 2008

2. Post #2