• Same story, different day...........year ie more of the same fiat floods the world
  • There are no markets
  • "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding high finance, politics, constructionist Constitution, and mental masturbation of all types"

Suggestions for new Software?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Uglytruth

Gold Member
Gold Chaser
Joined
Apr 6, 2011
Messages
5,081
Likes
7,042
#2
Is it possible when going to new posts to view them all on 1 page? Or at least expand it to 50 or 100 threads per page?
 

pitw

Gold Member
Gold Chaser
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Jun 25, 2013
Messages
2,894
Likes
2,851
Location
Eastern Alberta.
#3
I'm guessing this has nothing to do with undies.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#4
sure, but there are problems with that, and we have run into it before,

it causes slow loading times for a page,
I already increased it from 20 to 40,

After that, I would need a vote to see how many want to go higher, otherwise it may affect a lot of persons
 

gringott

Killed then Resurrected
Midas Member
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,929
Likes
19,510
Location
You can't get there from here.
#5
Any chance of one of those floating "to the top" buttons that many sites have?

p.s. Good to see the bear tracks back....
 

gringott

Killed then Resurrected
Midas Member
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,929
Likes
19,510
Location
You can't get there from here.
#7
I'm aware of those other options, but my living room keyboard needs a multi-key combination to "page up" and no "home" key.
I have found the floating "up" button useful on other websites, same action as a "home" key.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#11
when I looked into the floating 'to the top buttons', it seemed as they were useful 'cause they were 2 way,

they also speed up scrolling down............

don't know how many persons would want something like that?

I only really want to load what we need, as that was one of the problems with vb, is that over time it had lead feet from so much code.
 

ErrosionOfAccord

#1 Global Warmer
Gold Chaser
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,150
Likes
3,260
Location
Coal Country
#12
Just an odd anomaly. On the JB ticker the mobile says $14.34 while the laptop says $14.40.
 

Ensoniq

Midas Member
Midas Member
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2013
Messages
7,083
Likes
12,241
Location
North Carolina
#15
Are meta tags stripped from the images uploaded
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#16
Hey up guys,

I have been adding tags for all the articles I put up to help the computers crawl over the place, and to help with search later on.

It would be a big help if you also added tags as you put up content,
Should be a box at the bottom of the thread create or reply box, where I just use random words like gold, silver, goldismoney2.com, Fed, etc.

Gracias'
 

glockngold

Gold Member
Gold Chaser
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,019
Likes
3,424
#18
Question:
When copying & pasting an article paragraph, we used to be able to highlight coloring it by clicking on a goober at the tool bar at the top of the posting area.
Am I missing it here?
 

searcher

Mother Lode Found
Mother Lode
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
162,054
Likes
41,787
#19
Hey guys....................I keep getting logged off and then having to sign in each time I want to post something or when I go into a different forum. What's up with that?
 

^updated^

found a way in
Gold Chaser
Site Supporter
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,105
Likes
2,543
Location
no answer
#23
when I looked into the floating 'to the top buttons', it seemed as they were useful 'cause they were 2 way,

they also speed up scrolling down............

don't know how many persons would want something like that?

I only really want to load what we need, as that was one of the problems with vb, is that over time it had lead feet from so much code.
I would like to see the up/down arrows as illustrated below. The example is from a XenForo powered forum. the up/down arrows are at the bottom right corner of every screen and can take you to the top or bottom of the page immediately.

a2015-12-29_160226.jpg
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#24
Yep, I hear ya and was looking at that,

It is a addon that a person can ad to the base forum package, and it is put out by a 3rd party,

Which means it isn't supported, nor updated

That is the problem with stuff like that, as in the future it can result in issues. Developers of that stuff come and go with the wind.

In other words, I haven't decided as of yet re that.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#26

Added "To The Top" Button where you tap that and it scrolls up the page,


speed is based on how long the page is

There is a full size version setup for normal computers, whereas there is a 'mini' version setup for phone type devices.

The arrows are now working to go up or down on a page



up down arrow.jpg
 
Last edited:

nickndfl

Midas Member
Midas Member
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
12,672
Likes
11,021
Location
Florida
#27
I just tried to upload a picture that I have posted in the past and the file was too large.
 

gringott

Killed then Resurrected
Midas Member
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,929
Likes
19,510
Location
You can't get there from here.
#30
gringott and updated were totally right IMO,

added that 'Up' 'Down' button and am using it all the darn time
I was extremely happy and surprised to see the up / down arrows when I came on this morning. I immediately came here to say "thanks". Got twice what I requested, great stuff. Thanks to you, Scorpio!
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#31
under promise and try to over deliver,

That is the GIM way

When we do this stuff, we want to use proper add ons, so that when we go to update, all is not lost, and have to reinvent all over again,

Which is what would happen if we did not use stuff that is made for the system or comes with the system.

So just trying to be cautious that we are not granted a big surprise somewhere down the road.
 

gringott

Killed then Resurrected
Midas Member
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,929
Likes
19,510
Location
You can't get there from here.
#32
I used to run a Cnet BBS years ago, every update seemed to break all the add-ins. Pain in the posterior. You are doing the correct thing Scorp.
 

Goldhedge

Moderator
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
31,946
Likes
41,448
Location
Rocky Mountains
#33
I'm liking the right side layout! Very nice!
 

Goldhedge

Moderator
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
31,946
Likes
41,448
Location
Rocky Mountains
#35
Any chance of one of those floating "to the top" buttons that many sites have?

p.s. Good to see the bear tracks back....
I have to admit that this was a great suggestion!

I use it all the time!
 

Weatherman

In GIM since 2006
Gold Chaser
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
2,647
Likes
2,726
#37
Is it possible to reduce the number of posts per page on graphics heavy threads? Random Pictures, Romper Room, and maybe a few others take forever to see the latest additions because those pages load a huge amount of images that were previously posted. If the number of posts per page for those graphics heavy threads was reduced from 40 to 10, then there would be 4 times as many pages in each thread (so all the content would still be there), but the most recent would load much faster.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
25,016
Likes
28,509
#38
problem is there is only 1 setting and it would apply to all threads.

I can change it, but you will need the 'go' from others also

Awhile ago, people thought the number was too few.

Let me know

maybe start a thread on the subject and let people respond accordingly?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.